Skip to main content

DART+ South West Public Consultation Process

Public participation is a key element to the delivery of major infrastructure projects, such as the DART+ South West Project. There are three main opportunities for customers, residents and businesses adjacent to the route, as well as other stakeholders, to provide feedback to the scheme development and Railway Order approval process as outlined below:

  • Public Consultation No. 1 on the Emerging Preferred Option (Summer 2021) - Completed
  • Public Consultation No. 2 on the Preferred Option (Winter 2021) - Completed
  • Statutory Consultation Period as part of the Railway Order application process - (Winter 2022)

These are highlighted in graphical form below: 

Graphic showing public participation in the option selection, design and Railway Order process. Click image to make larger

YearStudies and ResearchPublications and MilestonesPublic Participation
CompletedSummer 2021Options development and appraisal to support identification of 'Emerging Preferred Option
Preliminary Option Selection Report and selection of 'Emerging Preferred Option'
Non-statutory public consultation on the 'Emerging Preferred Option'
CompletedWinter 2021Options Selection Report and 'Preferred Option' confirmation.
Option Selection Report and 'Preferred Option' identification
Non-statutory public consultation on the 'Preferred Option'

Spring 2022 - Autumn / Winter 2022

Complete design appraisal and statutory documents
Design freeze and planning submission preparation
Stakeholder engagement

Winter 2022Subject to government approval make planning submission
Issue of planning submissions and Railway Order documents
An Bord Pleanála statutory consultation

Public feedback will be accepted during all stages of the design development and can be submitted through the project website, e-mail address, phone or by written correspondence. For further details see the ‘How to Engage / Contact Us’ section.

Iarnród Éireann invites the public to engage in the design process and all feedback is welcome.

Project Sponsors

The DART+ Programme is being implemented by Iarnród Éireann as part of Project Ireland 2040 and the NTA's Transport Strategy for the Greater Dublin Area (2016-2035).